Drs. Bill Sullivan, John Ortinau Honored with ICEP’s Annual Awards

William P. Sullivan, DO, JD, FACEP, and John M. Ortinau, MD, FACEP, were recognized for their contributions to the college and emergency medicine during the Annual Business Meeting at the 2016 Spring Symposium on May 5.

Bill. B. Smiley Award

Sullivan-William-150pxDr. Sullivan, of Frankfort, is the recipient of the Bill B. Smiley Meritorious Service Award, which honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of emergency medicine in Illinois. The Bill B. Smiley award is ICEP’s highest honor.

Dr. Sullivan, a past president of ICEP, has shown tremendous leadership on medical-legal issues throughout his career, most recently authoring a resolution on ethics submitted by ICEP and passed by the ACEP Council in 2015. He is a longtime member of national ACEP’s Medical Legal Committee and has served as Chairman of ACEP’s Standard of Care Task Force since 2008. He is also a member of the ED Legal Letter Editorial Board.

Dr. Sullivan continues to be active in ICEP activities, serving on the Practice Management Committee and as a dedicated speaker at the Emergency Medicine Board Review Intensive course. He also consistently serves as faculty for the Oral Board Review Courses.

Dr. Sullivan is an attending physician at St. Margaret’s Hospital in Spring Valley and in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System in Chicago. He is a Clinical Instructor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Midwestern University in Downers Grove and a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Dr. Sullivan attended the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed a dual residency in internal medicine and emergency medicine at Midwestern University. He completed his law degree at Chicago-Kent College of Law.

ICEP Meritorious Service Award

Ortinau, JohnDr. Ortinau, of Barrington, is the recipient of the ICEP Meritorious Service Award, honoring his significant contributions to the advancement of emergency medicine by exemplary service.

Dr. Ortinau has been a member of ICEP since its inception in 1977, serving on the Board of Directors from 1993 to 2001 and as President for the 1999-2000 term. He is a longtime member of the EMS Committee and has served as the Committee Chair since 2014.

Dr. Ortinau has been the EMS Medical Director for the Northwest Community EMS System since 1997 and plans to retire at the end of 2016. He is also an attending emergency physician and EMT and Paramedic Instructor for the system. He serves as an expert witness in medical legal issues involving EMS and emergency medicine.

Dr. Ortinau attended Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine and completed his residency in family practice at Lutheran General Hospital in Park Ridge. He was one of the first physicians to earn subspecialty board certification in Emergency Medical Services from the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

ITLS Follow us on Facebook

ICEP - Illinois College of Emergency Physicians
3000 Woodcreek Drive, Suite 200, Downers Grove IL, 60515
Telephone: 630.495.6400 | 888.495.ICEP
Fax: 630-495-6404

Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions