New Document, Sample Billing Protocols for Sexual Assault Survivors Released by Illinois Attorney General

January 4, 2016

Public Act 099-0454 amends several sections of the Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act (SASETA, 410 ILCS 70). The new law addresses the billing procedure emergency room physicians must follow when they provide hospital emergency services or forensic services to sexual assault survivors. Monetary penalties may be assessed for violations of the billing provisions. The […]

Inaugural EM Wellness Week Focuses on the Well-being of the Care-Giver

December 21, 2015

Created and spearheaded by the American College of Emergency Physicians, the 2016 Emergency Medicine Wellness Week™ is an opportunity all emergency physicians and their colleagues to take the time to self-renew while staying dedicated to the highest quality patient care. The inaugural event is slated for January 24-30, 2016. To participate, visit the website,, […]

Emergency Medicine Foundation Accepting Grant Proposals for 2016-2017

November 24, 2015

EMF Grants Available!  Apply online at: Deadline for proposals is December 18, 2015 NIDA/EMF Training Awards Available! The Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF) has partnered with the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) to support two $20,000 Training Awards. The goals of the award are to promote knowledge of treatments for patients with substance use […]

ACEP Accepting Comments on New Clinical Policy Until November 29

November 5, 2015

The draft “Clinical Policy for Children Younger Than Two Years Presenting to the Emergency Department With Fever” is in the review stage of ACEP clinical policy development. Comments on the draft are being sought by the ACEP Clinical Policies Committee and will be carefully reviewed, and used to further refine and enhance the draft when […]

ACEP Elects ICEP Member Dr. Rebecca Parker as President-Elect

October 29, 2015

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) today announced that Rebecca Parker, MD, FACEP, from Park Ridge, was elected President-elect during the organization’s annual meeting in Boston. She was elected by ACEP’s Council to serve a 1-year term and will assume ACEP’s presidency at next year’s meeting in Las Vegas. Dr. Parker was serving as […]

Law Sets New Requirements Related to Billing for Sexual Assault Services

October 13, 2015

Governor Rauner signed HB 3848 into law in August. Now known as Public Act 99-0454, this new law, effective January 1, 2016, amends the Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act (SASETA) to clarify the prohibition on directly billing any sexual assault survivor; require hospitals to issue survivors a notice regarding billing and a payment authorization […]

Chicago Marathon Seeks Attendings, Fellows and Residents to Serve as Medical Volunteers

September 10, 2015

Unique opportunity in volunteering for the Bank of America Chicago Marathon, the 2nd largest marathon in the world. Collaborate and work with over 1,600 medical volunteers, private and city EMS in a large mass event setting. Have an opportunity to manage unique medical conditions specific to endurance sports like acute hyponatremia and environmental issues. This […]

Community Mourns Loss of Dr. Stanley Zydlo

June 4, 2015

Dr. Stanley Zydlo, one of ICEP’s founding members and a pioneer of EMS, passed away June 3. He was 81. Dr. Zydlo is considered the “father” of the paramedic service in the northwest Illinois suburbs and founder of the first emergency medical system in Illinois, at Northwest Community Hospital. He started one of the first […]

ACEP Council Committee Applications Now Available

June 3, 2015

ACEP Council committee applications for 2015-2016 are now available on the ACEP website. You must be a Councillor or Alternate Councillor to serve on a Council committee. Committee application forms must be submitted by July 31, 2015. Volunteer to serve on a Council committee and lend your experience and expertise! Members will be appointed to the […]

Drs. Rebecca Parker, Dino Rumoro and Dennis Uehara Honored with ICEP’s Annual Awards

May 1, 2015

Three ICEP members were honored at the Spring Symposium on May 1 at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago for their outstanding contributions to the college and emergency medicine. Rebecca Parker, MD, FACEP, Dino P. Rumoro, DO, FACEP, and Dennis Uehara, MD, FACEP were recognized by outgoing President David Griffen, MD, PhD, FACEP. Bill. B. Smiley […]

ITLS Follow us on Facebook

ICEP - Illinois College of Emergency Physicians
3000 Woodcreek Drive, Suite 200, Downers Grove IL, 60515
Telephone: 630.495.6400 | 888.495.ICEP
Fax: 630-495-6404

Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions